New England Clam Chowder

I cannot BELIEVE I didn’t know how to make clam chowder! I couldn’t think of what made it creamy! Go ahead and laugh–I know how crazy that sounds…

Stefan's Gourmet Blog

DSC07806

Anatoli wrote an interesting article about clam chowder on his great wine blog Talk-A-Vino. He explains that chowder is “a rich soup typically containing fish, clams, or corn with potatoes and onions” and that there are four types of clam chowder:

  • New England Clam Chowder, with cream
  • Manhattan Clam Chowder, with tomatoes
  • Rhode Island Clam Chowder, clear
  • Long Island Clam Chowder, with cream and tomatoes

Although I don’t remember ever having eaten clam chowder, it sounded like something we would enjoy. And so I researched the internet for recipes of the most classic version, New England Clam Chowder. I tried to keep it as simple as possible, and of course I used fresh ingredients only. The resulting chowder was delicious. Here’s what I did…

Ingredients

DSC07765

For 2 servings

1 kg (2.2 lbs) clams

20 grams (2 slices) bacon

200 grams (.5 lb) potatoes

70 grams celery (1 stick)

70 grams…

View original post 471 more words

Leave a Reply

