The Elephant in the Room

The elephant's not this cute, trust me.
The elephant’s not this cute, trust me.

I’ve often commented that once you’re unemployed, people tend to think you lack even the most basic of skills.  I’m surprised no one’s yet expressed surprise that I can wipe myself properly. Give me a couple of weeks, people’ll express surprise that I can walk upright.

People don’t mean to be so condescending, but when you ask if someone has signed up with (insert name of the biggest, most obvious job site here) as if it’s the best kept secret since the real culprit behind the kidnapping of the Lindbergh baby.

So, to answer the question of where I signed up, here’s a small sampling of the folks who’ve tasted the goodness of my resume:

Monster.com, CareerBuilder, LinkedIn, iHireAdmin, geebo.com, Craigslist, Indeed.com, jkljobs.com, JobsByFax, ZipRecruiter, Glassdoor, Jobalot, Jobs.mo.gov, Careerpark.com, employmentguide.com, FindARecruiter, FreshJobs, GettheJob, GoJobs, JobCritters, The Interview Exchange, JobFox, Jobirn: Insider Referral Network, Job Search Shortcuts, Job Shouts!, Jobs in Pods, Jobs.NET, JobsINBOX, Jobzerk, juju, LinkUp, LocalHelpWanted.net, Net-Temps, Realmatch.com, MyCareerSpace, National Job Network Simply Hired, Snag A Job, Thing-a-ma-job, TopUSAJobs, TeetMyJobs, TwitterJobSearch.com, US.Jobs, and last, but not least, Vault.com.

Now, these are the ones that I’ve signed up for in the last 4 months. There were many others before this, and there will be many more after (unless I get hired…)

Leave a Reply

