It’s Not You…It’s You.

Image So.

You’ve polished your resume. You’ve practiced and practiced your “off the cuff” answers. You’ve made sure your elevator speech is electrifying.  And yet…

No interviews. Not even a hint of an interview.

Why?  You’ve tested well, surprisingly well with Office 2007, 2010, AND 2013.  You didn’t void your bowels at the last interview and you could carry on a conversation rather well.  You sounded confident (but not TOO confident!), you had the right amount of humility, you were open to criticism (you didn’t take anything personally!) blah, blah, blah.

But yet, you’re still on the outside looking in.

I don’t have any answers, if I did, I’d have a job by now, wowing my new employers with my dazzling virtuosity.  As it stands, I’m dazzling no one, at least not enough.

The definition of insanity is probably well known to anyone reading this, so I won’t go into that, but after five months of serious searching with only 6 interviews (well, 2 interviews–for non staffing companies) to show for it means that I HAVE to change things up. How?  Perhaps I should dress in a clown suit, handing out my resume to various companies.  How about sending out dollar bills torn in half to hiring managers, showing them that they could save 50% by hiring me through the OJT (On the Job Training Program).  It’s win win for everyone–especially the employer!

One thought on “It’s Not You…It’s You.

  1. Great Post. Job searching is the worst thing ever. I’m in it as well. Maybe you can tweak your resume and cover letter? I did that a few months ago and got an increased about of interest and interviews. No jobs though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

