Job Fair?! More Like Job UNfair!

Image I attended one of many job fairs on my calendar yesterday, and somehow THIS outing made me more cynical.  More cynical than arriving at one venue and being told that there was a misprint on the calendar.  More than hearing the term “good fit.” More than…well, you get the idea.

Truthfully, I don’t know why I expected anything different–it’s not like I haven’t been to this dance before, but maybe it was the combination of being cold, the return of the Poppin’ Fresh® left foot (thanks medicine!) and the (ahem) lack of opportunity made me more than a little angry.  Then again, I’m sure it was the smell of panic and desperation that hung over the cafeteria like boiled cabbage that colored my thoughts.

That being said, there’s one other job fair (pfft!) scheduled for my personal Waterloo, Florissant Valley Community College next week.  Now, I’m not psychic, but I may face the same problem there—but at least the buses run regularly (instead of weird, off-kilter schedules…)

Each and every day that goes by makes me wonder if anyone knows how to really find a job…

Leave a Reply

